Tag: Books

Book Quotes


“To love is to destroy, and to be loved is to be the one destroyed” Jace The Mortal Instruments

“Sometimes a flame must level a forest to ash before new growth can begin.  I believe Wonderland needed a scouring” A.G. Howard author of Splintered

“Heroes aren’t always the ones who win.  They’re the ones who lose sometimes.  But they keep fighting.  They keep coming back They don’t give up.  That’s what makes them heroes” Clary Fairchild The Mortal Instruments

“People aren’t born good or bad.  Maybe they’re born with tendencies either way.  But it’s the way you live your life that matters.” Simon Lewis The Mortal Instruments

“And there in the midst of blinding orange, yellow, and white flames, our forever begins”  Alyssa Gardner Splintered

“Anyone can betray anyone.” Mare Barrow Red Queen

“Monsters are most dangerous when they’re afraid.” King’s Cage

It does not do well to dwell on dreams and forget to live.” Albus Dumbledore Harry Potter

“We’ve all got both light and dark inside us.  What matters is the part we choose to act on.  That’s who we really are.” Sirius Black Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix

Happiness can be found even in the darkest of times if only one remembers to turn on the light.” Albus Dumbledore Harry Potter

“That’s the hardest part.  The absence of certainty.”  Christian Hallowed

“Some people have stuffed animals.  Other people have knives” Aaron The Iron Trial

“There’s plenty of sense in nonsense, sometimes if you wish to look for it.”  William Herondale The Infernal Devices


The Mortal Instruments

The Mortal instruments is a six book series written by Cassandra Clare.  These amazing books are about the Shadowhunters of the New York Institute.  Shadowhunters are a race of human and angel hybrids which protect the mundane/human world from demons, while also keeping downworlders in line.  Downworlders are vampires, werewolves, the fae, and warlocks.

angel-1841177_640The series, The Mortal Instruments,  consists of the following six books, City of Bones, City of Ashes, City of Glass, City of Fallen Angels, City of Lost Souls, and City of Heavenly Fire, in that order. These follow the story of a sixteen year old girl, Clary Fray, living in New York and her discovery of the shadow world.  After being hidden from it, Clary Fray is thrust into this world and discovers that she is a shadowhunter.  Anywhere she goes so does her best friend, Simon Lewis, who is also thrown into this world but as a mundane.   They meet the golden boy, Jace Wayland, and his adoptive family, the Lightwoods, who are also shadowhunters in the New York Institute.  Together Jace, Clary, Simon, Isabelle and Alexander Lightwood need to find the mortal cup and stop Valentine from accomplishing his evil goal.  Secrets and lies are revealed that just might break even the best of the shadowhunters.  

If you like to read fantasy, this series is definitely recommended.

Red Queen: A Review

Looking for a good book to read? I would suggest Red Queen.  Red Queen  by Veronica Aveyard is a fantasy fiction book.  This book is about a girl named Mare Barrow who lives in a Red crown-1333400_640community.  What is a Red community? Well, in her world the people are separated by the Red and the Silver Elite.  The Silvers, who have silver blood, have supernatural powers which they use to keep the Reds, who have red blood, in check.  But what happens when Mare, along with all the silvers, discovers that there is something unique about her which makes her a red and a silver.   If you think that wasn’t exciting, the king also makes her marry his own son, but as a completely different person, the long lost daughter of a Silver general and his wife!  Wondering what makes Mare so special? You will just have to read the book to find out.



Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them is an new installation to the Harry Potter World. Newt dragon-1821017_640Scamander, (the author of the textbook Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them) goes to New York City in the 1920’s with his case of Magical beasts. When a few break out, he and a few friends have to run around New York trying to find them. As he goes on this journey we learn more about the American wizarding world, a little more about Grindelwald, and of course several new beasts. On a scale of one to ten, I would give this movie a thirty-five.

This movie is rated PG-13 and is about 2 hours and 13 minutes long.

Book Review – The White Rabbit Chronicles

by Ally Nemkovich

Within this series, there are four books: Alice In Zombieland, Through the Zombie Glass,  

The Queen of Zombie Hearts, and A Mad Zombie Party. The White Rabbit Chronicles is a book series about about a girl named–you guessed it–Alice.  

In the first book, her entire family is killed in a car crash… or were they? Throughout her entire arctic-hare-828994_640life, Alice’s dad has warned her about the monsters in the world, and Alice is starting to think he was right; what if that’s what she had seen after their car flipped over? She moves in with her grandparents and transfers to a new school .There, she meets her new best friend Kat, and the dark and mysterious Cole Holland. She soon finds out about the hidden world of zombies and slayers and must put her newly discovered powers to use.

I have read this series before, but recently I reread it because of the release  in September of the newest book, A Mad Zombie Party. This is one of my favorite book series (just behind the Harry Potter and Percy Jackson series). I highly recommend this series if you enjoy action, sci-fi, and/or romance.

Book Review – Percy Jackson and The Olympians

By: Ally Nemkovich

Percy Jackson and the Olympians by Rick Riordan is, by far, one of my favorite series. The books are hilariously twisted Greek mythology books about a boy named Percy Jackson. Percy is a demigod (half god, half mortal) and he discovers a place called Camp Half-blood where kids like him are trained to battle mythological monsters. Percy finds out that his biological father is the god Poseidon. In the first book, he discovers that Zeus’ lightning bolt has been stolen and goes on a quest to return it with the help of his friends Grover (a satyr) and Annabeth (daughter of Athena). Throughout the rest of the series, Percy embarks on several quests to help the gods.

There are five books in the series: The Lightning Thief, Thposeidane Sea of Monsters, The Titan’s Curse, The Battle of the Labyrinth, and The Last Olympian. There is also a companion series: The Heroes of Olympus which is another personal favorite of mine. Within these books is plenty of action, suspense, and love to satisfy anyone who has the pleasure of reading them.

Highly Recommended